The Lifetime Achievement Award

Celebrating a lifetime of contribution & commitment to the industry

The Lifetime Achievement Award (LAA) is given annually by the Goldsmiths' Craft & Design Council. This is in recognition of a recipient's outstanding contribution and commitment to the craft and industry of silversmithing, jewellery and/or the allied trades over the course of their lifetime, and has shown an exemplary dedication to the profession. 

This prestigious award is generously sponsored by Thomas Fattorini Ltd who produce the specially designed silver medal that is presented to the LAA recipient at the GC&DC’s prestigious awards event.

Following Council’s first ever open-call for nominations last year, we are excited to be accepting nominations for this significant accolade from the public and wider industry once again.

The Council is keen to receive worthy nominations, including any unsung champions of the profession who could be very deserving of this unique award.


Jane Short - Winner of the Lifetime Achievement Award 2021

For the first time since the LAA’s inception, in 2021 the GC&DC accepted nominations for this significant accolade from the wider industry and public. This year the Council’s LAA goes to Jane Short.

Jane is a highly respected, world class enameller who has been instrumental in guiding aspiring enamellers to follow and achieve their personal goals. 

Jane’s major commissions are numerous, including pieces for The Silver Trust for Number Ten Downing Street, a water jug presented to HM Queen Elizabeth II to mark the opening of The Millennium Bridge, HM The Queen Mother, and Lichfield Cathedral. Her work presides in several major collections including the V&A, the Fitzwilliam and the Ashmolean Museums, the Queens Collection and the Goldsmiths' Company Collection. Jane has been awarded an MBE for services to the Craft of Enamelling, and she is a Liveryman of the Goldsmiths' Company. 

Many of Jane’s former students have progressed to be outstanding enamellers in their own right such as Fred Rich (winner of the 2021 Jacques Cartier Memorial Award & also taught by Pat Furze), Ros Conway, Shelia McDonald and Kyosun Jung to name but a few. Jane’s mentorship and guidance has helped them to develop their own styles, providing a sound foundation upon which to build unique careers.

Jane is an inspiration and an iconic leader in her specialist field and therefore a natural and worthy person for receiving Council’s 2021 Lifetime Achievement Award.

Lifetime Achievement Award Recepients

2020 Charlotte de Syllas
2019 Grant Macdonald
2018 Patrick & Vivian Fuller
2017 Caroline Broadhead
2016 David McCarty
2015 Norman Bassant

2014 Gerald Whiles
2013 Christopher Lawrence
2012 Tony Shepherd
2011 Alex Styles
2010 Dorothy Hogg
2009 Stuart Devlin
2008 Paul Podolsky


This product has been added to your cart